My heart has wings.
It is a shorebird bred
to flee the beaches
but my nests are in the dunes
that flank you –
I will sweep the coasts until
I am home with you again.

You are necessary, my sea.
Your constant rush against my shore
douses the brushfire I’ve become.
I would spark and rage
but you wash over me
and I am embers, a smolder,
a painless glow.

I rest myself here,
cooled by the closeness of you.
I cannot drown myself in you
no matter how much I breathe in.
I immerse myself in you
and let your tides become the dance
of us, a gull loving the water.

March 2012

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a Reply

