I am embraced by the woman
who embraces the world,
her warm spangled skin pressing softly
and cradling my head and shoulders.

A vertigo overtakes me;
I am twisted off the pavement
my tires spinning wildly
as I am suddenly on a ceiling,
a toy car in the hands
of a spectral toddler.

Suspended here between heaven and earth,
I limply wander between land and sky.
I slowly unwind back onto the road
and the sharp, two-pronged
laugh of the moon
rattles me –

I am not well acquainted with the night it seems,
nor the starry joke She seems to be telling.

March 2012

Leave a Reply

