Reflection #2: Will I be able to do it?

I am seriously doubting my ability to actually make it to 144 poems in 2011 at the rate that I am writing.

Well, I *know* that I won’t make it to 144 poems at the rate that I am writing. I’m just not really sure how to increase that rate. I don’t know how to make time for writing. I live at home with my parents and my 7-year-old sister. I try to make space and time to write by composing snippets of poems in my head while I’m driving to and from work; I jot down notes on my Blackberry frantically before students come in for the first class of the day. I get caught in the day-to-day workings of the household – mom needs this, stepdad needs this, sister needs this, the dog is barking, lets get the shower routine out of the way – and before I know it I need to go to sleep or else I’ll be a zombie in the morning.

I tried writing in a notebook before bed, but I kept getting interrupted. I tried to write in my room with my headphones on, but the Internet got the better of me. How can I carve out some discipline in an environment that seems designed to prevent it?

There’s 200-some-odd days left. I can do this, somehow.

Leave a Reply

